top of page

5 Indies Upcoming in May(ish) 2022 on My Book Radar


Cities of Smoke and Starlight by Alli Earnest

Release date: 4 May 2021

Formats: Paperback and eBook

Available at: Anywhere books are sold; Yes! Even in the UK! (I checked Waterstones)

Blurb:


Two lost souls. One dangerous mission.


Kase is a screw up, and when he takes the blame for nearly killing a fellow pilot, he faces serious charges. Seeking to clear his name, he flies a ragtag crew to establish trade with a hostile race and help his nation avoid the looming war. If only he didn't have to work with the infuriating bookshop attendant who insulted him with Shakespeare...


After Hallie loses her bookshop job and the promise of school tuition, she's desperate to avoid the ghosts of the past awaiting her return home. When offered a substantial sum to negotiate an alliance for her country, she says yes before the nice government agent can finish his sentence. Now if she could just ignore the ungrateful, arrogant prat of a pilot...


In a world of hoverships and crumbling First Earth artifacts, Hallie and Kase must accomplish the impossible: secure an alliance with an elusive, mystical race to help defend against a kingdom with dangerous technology and ancient magic. If they fail, the war will be lost before it even begins.


Cities of Smoke and Starlight is a science fantasy novel perfect for fans of Dune, Pride and Prejudice, and anyone who believed Rogue One needed a romantic subplot.

 

Rattle Man by E.H. Gaskins

Release Date: 29 April 2022 (Almost May)

Formats: eBook, Paperback (currently for Kickstarter backers)

Available at: Amazon

Blurb:


Never Give Your Name to Rattle...


In the cold, empty underbelly of an ODIN-class command station run by a tyrannical dictator, Mila has been sold by her deadbeat father for a fortune, with the promise that she can refine extremely rare and volatile starship fuel. The problem is, she can't. Not until the mysterious “Rattle Man” makes her a bargain, and Mila finds herself mixed in with much worse than tyrants.


Now, to escape the Rattle Man and the tyrant, Mila must put her humble roots behind her. But she can’t do it alone. She’ll have to enlist the help of new allies, including a biomechanical Berserker, a refugee Blademaster, and a vengeful Void Pirate, and discover a dormant, godlike power within herself. Then, she may just have a chance to challenge both dictators and deities alike.


Rattle Man, a story set in a star system rooted in Norse mythology, tells an updated version of the Rumpelstiltskin fairy tale from the perspective of the doomed daughter. Fans of Marissa Meyer’s Cinder and Neil Gaiman’s Norse Mythology, which helped build the world of this novel, will lose themselves in the pages of this new sci-fi adventure.


Praise for Rattle Man


“What a debut! Rattle Man blends far-future Nordic saga with a touch of Rumpelstiltskin magic to create a terrific novel of courage, love, death, and danger, as a young girl and her cyborg guardian battle against all the odds to win their freedom. You need to read this book.”

– Rick Wilber, Award-Winning Author of Alien Morning and Alien Day.


Successfully funded on Kickstarter (March-April 2022) at over 400% and selected as one of the platform's "Projects We Love."


 

Beast Mage by Derek Alan Siddoway

Release Date: Projected May 2022

Formats: eBook, Paperback (Kickstarter is still open for orders)

Available at: Currently available on Kickstarter, just fill out the form to be added to the list; not available on retail platforms yet

Blurb:


Kellen Lars may be the most unremarkable person on Earth. In the mana-enchanted land of Oras, he could become a champion.


After his little sister vanishes before his eyes, Kellen awakens in another realm inhabited by mythical creatures and people who shape the very forces of nature. These are the Beastcallers, wielders of elemental magics who ascend alongside their beast companions.


In search of his sister, Kellen explores a savage new world full of magical storms, animal demi-gods and warring tribes. Just surviving isn't an option. If he ever wants to see home again, Kellen must wield his budding powers and train his newly bonded Mana Beast. Even if he succeeds, nothing will ever be the same again.


A young man from Earth. A Mana Beast. Together, they'll progress into legend.

 

Keeper of Scales by Anne Mollova

Release Date: 17 May 2022

Formats: eBook, Paperback

Available at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble

Blurb:


A princess with a secret. An ancient evil rising. A kingdom caught in the balance.


For centuries, the Trianid has kept the kingdom of Dúramair peaceful and prosperous. Formed by Dúramair’s greatest warrior, an abbess who weaves visions of the future, and the Keeper of Scales, a healer gifted with Sight of the faerie realm, the Trianid has passed on its wisdom and responsibilities generation after generation to its carefully sought and selected apprentices.


Alyen, crown princess of Dúramair, has trained her whole life to be queen. She’s kept her Sight a secret, trusting that the Keeper of Scales will find an apprentice soon—for surely one other candidate can be found. But when news comes from the north of dark magic returning to Dúramair, Alyen is forced to make the hardest decision of her life. A decision that could determine the fate of her kingdom.


Alyen plunges into a world of elemental magic, new friendships, and a budding romance. But when tragedy strikes at the heart of the Trianid, she and her friends find that they are the last hope for Dúramair’s victory in the looming war. Forced to choose between love and duty, Alyen struggles to master her growing powers, knowing that if she fails, she risks destroying everything and everyone she loves.


If you enjoy medieval settings, slow-burn romance, epic fantasy, and elemental magic, you'll love Keeper of Scales.

 

Sworn Shift (The Wolves of Rock Falls #3) by A.J. Skelly

Release Date: 2 May 2022

Formats: eBook, Paperback

Available at: Signed copies available Author’s Etsy (BooksandWhimsy)Anywhere books are sold; Yes! Even in the UK! (I checked Waterstones)

Blurb:


When her genetics kick in and tell her that Bowen Oakes is her mate, Raven Rivers rebels. She wants nothing to do with Bowen or his sordid past.


Bowen falls hard and fast for Raven, but the mistakes of his past, and his own deadly secret, threaten everything he's worked so hard to achieve. When his past comes calling, Bowen must decide if he's willing to embrace his past to preserve his future. Because Raven hangs in the balance.




119 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page